Of the several vices to choose from, 2 of my favorites are a good premium cigar and  highland single malt scotch whiskey.

Both are aquired taste, that is to say: at first they taste awful and both are known to make the novice ill. I am not a connoisseur in the sense that I travel the world seeking the experts opinion of the best this or the smoothest that. I am an affectionato. I like them like one would like a flavor of ice cream. I started drinking scotch because the old men I used to play cards with drank scotch. These were hard livin and rough oilfield men and I wanted to be a rough oilfield man myself. I developed a taste for it and found that even if I drank myself unconscious, the next morning I could function like nothing ever happened.

A month or so back, my lovely bride bought me a bottle of The MaCallan, 18 year old. Thats tonight’s choice. In order to be classed as a ‘Scotch’ Whisky, the spirit, made from a mash of cereals, must have been matured in an oak cask in Scotland for a minimum of three years. It must also be bottled at a minimum strength of 40% alcohol by volume. ‘Single’ Malt Scotch Whisky is Scotch Whisky distilled at a single distillery entirely from malted barley. The  Macallan single malt is distilled in Speyside , Scotland and the 18 is matured in sherry oak casks ( from jerez, spain) for a minimum of 18 years.  This whiskey was distilled in 1993 and before. One sips 3 fingers of this whiskey over 3 or 4 cubes of ice, never cutting it and offending the whiskey. If you’re a scotch drinker or if you want to be exceptional to a scotch drinker, The Macallan is always in style.

A premium cigar balances and compliments the scotch in a sensual and very mature blend of hot earth and rich smooth tranquility. I am having a  Montecristo Whitelabel .  Another gift from my wife. With a hand-selected Ecuadorian Connecticut Shade wrapper, a Nicaraguan binder and a blend of select Dominican and Nicaraguan long fillers, the White makes for a rich and creamy, flavorful, and well-rounded smoke. Montecristo has been making quality cigars for 75 years and their product is consistent and satisfying.

I realize that tonight on my back porch in Metairie, Louisiana I’m enjoying  the finest spirits of the Scottish highlands, with the finest tobacco made in the Dominican and Nicaragua. Adding to the sensual feast is music by people from Australia and all the while contemplating ideas from ancient india with a beautiful woman from Mississippi.

Tonight I am King of the world.