045

 

When I arrived to my Gym yesterday evening, I open the door and was assaulted by the overwhelming ugly of what’s called death metal music. I don’t like it but the young men who had the gym to themselves before I got there sure do. They had it cranked up to 11! Courteously, they asked if I was ok with that. I was. I popped my ear buds in and went to work.  Taste aside, the psychology of Music is well known. It’s sometimes exploited by clever capitalist to sell us things or crafty would-be suitors to promote an attraction advantage. I have been playing the drums for well over 30 years and Each and every day I am emotionally touched by some piece of music. But why?

A famous study, http://pom.sagepub.com/content/35/1/88.abstract, launched a thousand news articles regarding the way we are influenced by music. Music is a powerful mood regulation strategy, a powerful emotional conduit and a powerful weapon in my daily quest for beauty and meaning in this life. It’s beyond the sensual, it’s cognitive wiring.

Even so-called deaf people can sense music. http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2001/11/011128035455.htm  “Deaf people sense vibration in the part of the brain that other people use for hearing – which helps explain how deaf musicians can sense music, and how deaf people can enjoy concerts and other musical events. “These findings suggest that the experience deaf people have when ‘feeling’ music is similar to the experience other people have when hearing music. The perception of the musical vibrations by the deaf is likely every bit as real as the equivalent sounds, since they are ultimately processed in the same part of the brain.”

Very Enlightening.

From physics, we know sound is a form of energy, like light. We know the propagation of energy is ubiquitous and vibrations pass into and through us every moment of every day. From the concept of acutonics to the photoelectric effect, we are awash in several forms of energy and are literally bathed in this light of music.